After the Inauguration- My Thoughts

I want to start off this post first by saying that I am not trying to get into a political argument. I don’t have a desire to argue via social media. Secondly, I want to make it clear that I do not advocate for everything that Trump has ever said or done, so do not assume that. Throughout this election, I have been debating whether to write something about my thoughts or ideas and have always decided not to. However, with the recent events after the Inauguration I felt it was time for me to at least express my thoughts, so let’s get this rant started. I am twenty and I am part of a generation that feels entitled. When we were growing up everyone got a trophy. You sit on the bench for the whole game or in my case you practice ballet on the soccer field and guess what? You get a trophy. In no way did me dancing around earn me a trophy for playing soccer. This idea has followed us throughout our lives. We think we deserve freedom and justice yet we are not the ones out there fighting for it. Men and women risk their lives every single day to give us just that. We do not deserve a single bit of the freedom that we have because we have done nothing to earn it. We are so blessed to live in a country that gives us that freedom even though we are undeserving. To speak directly to what is going on in the last two days I would like to say this. I have no problem with protesting. I think protesting is a great thing. In the Constitution, we are granted freedom of speech and peaceful protesting is a great way to use that. What I do have a very big problem with is when protesting becomes riots. I do not care who you are or what political party you are a part of. This speaks to both Republicans and Democrats after any election, not just this one. Burning property, breaking windows, vandalizing, becoming violent and interfering with innocent people’s safety is not okay and it is NOT protesting. That is a riot. I also think that burning a flag that means so much to the men and women that fight and risk their lives for us to have these freedoms is wrong. I want to be clear, I am not speaking to any groups in particular, but America as a whole. That is not the right way to go about anything, and it will not accomplish anything. You can burn all the flags and limousines that you want, but at the end of the day the President of the United States will still be YOUR president as long as you are in this country. You may not agree with everything he has ever said or done. I never have agreed with everything that a president has said or done. There have been presidents that I really didn’t like, that is life. However, they were still my president because I am an American. So please, realize that violence and harsh words will not help anything, regardless of what election it is. If you don’t like who the president is, pray. Pray that they would succeed anyway. If the president fails, the whole country fails. Pray that they would make wise decisions and that they would surround themselves with wise people. There will always be elections where your candidate does not win. You can never get everything you want, but violence will not change a thing. It will only hurt and destroy. Our country is broken. A president cannot fix the mess we have created. God is the only one who can heal our nation, but we need to turn back to Him.

 “I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people – for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.” 1 Timothy 2:1-2

One thought on “After the Inauguration- My Thoughts

  1. Well said… You exhibit great maturity for a 20 yr. old.. I agree with everything you said and I might add that fowl language (which I’m often guilty of) and hateful rhetoric, and threats to blow up buildings are not a sign of protest or progress… They are threats and only serve to further the devide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

