A life is a life

It has been a while since I have taken the time to sit down and write a blog. However, with the bill in Ohio State banning abortions after the heartbeat begins and the impending backlash from pro-choice activists across the country I felt very burdened to sit and write this post. I am not naïve enough to think that I will be able to change every person’s mind through a blog. My only goal is to speak the truth and to hopefully make people think. Before I begin I want to make my views clear. I believe that life begins at conception. I know that is a very extreme view compared to what mainstream culture believes but that is my belief and conviction. This blog post however is going to focus on the new bill in Ohio and why it should make sense. When a person is on their death bed there is one thing that shows everyone that they are alive. That heartbeat on the monitor. You can see the peaks from where the heart is beating. When that line goes flat and the heart stops beating that means one thing. That person is declared dead without a heartbeat. The fact that the lack of a heartbeat results in death should mean that having a heartbeat means you are alive, right? That seems like a logical thought process to me. However, it is being fought back so hard and it hurts me to think that our world is so sick that when a baby’s heart is beating they are still not considered a person. That baby has every right to be here as do you and I yet they are not given that right. I know the big argument is “well what if the mother is raped or what is she can’t support the baby”. I believe that there is a purpose and a plan for every single life, whether that person chooses to see it or not. I know that there are thousands of families who cannot have biological children themselves and are seeking to adopt those children. I do not think that any child is a mistake. Yes, there are cases when the family cannot support a baby. I understand that, but I also know that there are so many families who would love the opportunity to support that child. I also know the argument “well what if the mother’s life is in danger?” This one caused my fiancé and I to have a pretty difficult discussion last night because it is always a possibility. What if one day we are so excited to bring a little baby into this world and something goes terribly wrong. What if the doctor goes to him and says either we kill the baby or your wife dies? What do you do in that situation? We talked for a while about what that would be like and came to a very difficult decision. I believe that it is never right to take the life of a person. That baby inside of me would be a person and it is my job to protect that person until he or she comes out of the womb. I am to put his or her best interest above my own. That is part of being a parent. A parent is called to care for that child and if that means I am to give my own life so that my child can live then that is what I would do. Of course, I pray that we never have to come to that but it is always a possibility. God makes all life sacred. Even a 6-week-old baby in the mother’s womb. It is not the mother’s body. There is a separate body inside of the mother. The mother is to protect that body not to destroy it to look out for her own best interest. When it comes to any argument about pro-life vs. pro-choice there are always a lot of scenarios thrown out. “Well what if this happens” “what about this situation”. My views remain the same. A life is a life and should always be protected. And my God never makes mistakes. He planned that life and that situation to bring glory to Him. To bring it back to the beginning. A heartbeat can’t mean life at the end if you refuse to see it as life in the beginning.

Leave a Reply

