Lessons from Wedding Planning

So I have been engaged for 4 months now. As much as people try to tell you about wedding planning, you really don’t know what to expect until you are doing it yourself. I love being engaged, and I am so excited to get married, but wedding planning is not all happy moments and wedding cakes. Wedding planning is also hard. With all of that being said here are five lessons I have learned from my wedding planning experience so far.

You will cry

Tears are bound to be shed at some point or another. Good grief, if you are like me it will be an almost daily occurrence. (I wish I was kidding). There are stressful tears like when you think about everything that needs to be done. There are happy tears like when you find your wedding dress. There are tears where you have no valid experience for crying, but yet your eyes seem to have a mind of their own. Again, I wish I was kidding, but crying is normal. This is such an emotional time and you cannot help that.

Everyone will have an opinion

Everyone will have an opinion on everything, from the little things to the big things. It is important to explain early on what you want, and to decide whose opinions matter to you and whose you are just going to ignore. People will always think that you should have done something different, but what is important is that you make your wedding day about you and your fiancé. At the end of the day that is all that matters. It does not matter what people think as long as the two of you are happy.

Stress is normal

To be honest I did not expect to experience so much stress so fast. It hit me like a brick wall and I do not handle stress well. (My poor fiancé). Sometimes I feel stressed and cannot even figure out why I am stressed. Your brain will be exhausted. (This is where the emotional tears come in). It is so important to have your fiancé by your side for support when you are trying to decide how you want your day to be. It is about the two of you after all. Be prepared for stress, but be prepared for fun as well.

It is fun

Through all the stress and chaos there is so much fun in wedding planning. Everything from picking a venue, food, photographer and dress to making registries and expanding your Pinterest board. This is such an exciting time. Do not let the stress rule you. It is so important to enjoy all of the little moments that come along with wedding planning.

The little things are not that important

Yes the details play a part in the wedding, but there are some things that you just need to let slide. Some things will not go your way, I promise. It is important to think about the bigger picture. At the end of the day, you will still be getting married even if it is raining outside, or if your tablecloths are off-white instead of white. Do not let the little things take away from the fun and excitement of it all.

Obviously I do not know it all. I still have 6 months to go before I get to say “I do” to my man, but I hope that I can share what I have learned so far with someone who can learn from it.

 

Leave a Reply

