An open thank you letter to the parents of college students

Going off to college is new and exciting. There are so many new people to meet and for the first time you are free. You are on your own, and for most people that is so exciting. What most people do not realize is how much you still need your parents. This is an open thank you letter to the parents of college kids.

Dear Mom and Dad,

Thank you.

Thank you for raising me to be able to be out on my own. Thank you for teaching me right and wrong so that when I am faced with decisions I know what to do. Thank you for the example you set. Thank you for all of the rules that I hated to follow. Looking back I know that they have helped me. Thank you for teaching me to follow after Jesus with everything I have.

Thank you for forcing me to grow up and leave my comfort zone. Thank you for not letting me quit when things get hard. Thank you for picking up the phone regardless of when I call. Thank you for praying for me. Thank you for teaching me to turn to God when I felt as if I could not go on any longer.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn and continue in my education. Thank you for loving me even though I fail sometimes. Thank you for your encouragement and motivation. Thank you for all of the things you say to make me smile when you know I am having a hard day.

Thank you for being my number 1 fans. Thank you for cheering me on. Thank you for all of the texts and the phone calls to let me know that you are praying for me. Thank you for everything that you do. I know I do not say it enough, but thank you.

You see, as much as we college kids hate to admit it, we still need our parents. It doesn’t matter how old you get or how far away you go. Your parents remain your parents. Freedom is amazing and being on your own is fun, but at the end of that day when you don’t feel good it is your mom that you want to call. When your car is acting up you still text your dad. That is what is so incredible about the gift of parents. They are there for you no matter what. So, to all of the parents of college students, we might fight you, we might get annoyed, we may think that we don’t need to call you for weeks or months; however, deep down we all know that we would not be where we are if it were not for all of the sacrifices that you make for us, and for that we are incredibly grateful.

Leave a Reply

