You are not alone

Let’s face it, life is hard. Nothing about our lives is easy. In this world there is trouble, there is pain, and there is loneliness. I have never experienced loneliness like I have since coming to college. There is something about going to a foreign place with thousands of foreign people that can make you feel that way. I even had my best friend since childhood with me and still felt lonely. Loneliness is one of the things that Satan uses to shift our focus inward. All we think about when we are lonely, is about how lonely we are. But the thing is, we are NOT alone. Whether you chose to recognize it or not, God is always with you. Believe it or not, He knows a thing or two about loneliness. Imagine all of the people who you thought were your friends, turning their backs on you, some even denying that they know you. Jesus went through that very experience. Peter denied Him three times. He was hung on a cross to be mocked by all who wanted to come see. If that doesn’t sound lonely, I don’t know what does. He was even forsaken by His Father while hanging on the cross. In Matthew 27:46 it says, “And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”. Jesus knows exactly what it is like to be totally alone. That is what is absolutely incredible about the God I serve. He knows what it is like. He is next to me at all times and guides my way. Deuteronomy 31:6 is one of my favorite verses. It says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” So, you may feel like you are totally alone. You may feel like no one understands what you are going through. Just remember, no matter what, you have a heavenly Father that will never leave or forsake you. No matter what trials you go through, He will be right next to you when you have no one else. You are NOT alone.

Leave a Reply

