What I learned the first week of college

I was the kid who had a countdown on my phone that counted down to move in day. I started dorm shopping before graduation. I had packed up boxes and had them waiting 3 months before I moved to school. I guess you could say I was super excited. I read blog post after blog post of things to do and things not to do at college. To be completely honest nothing truly prepared me for what I was about to experience. Here is a few of the things that I learned my first week at college.

1.You will be stressed like never before.

I was expecting lots of fun and lots of knew people, but I was not ready for the amount of stress. No matter how much you think you are ready for college I don’t think anything can really prepare you. There is something about living somewhere new, surrounded by thousands of people whom you don’t know, and a syllabus a mile long that seems to cause stress. I have had my share of panic attacks but the first week of college definitely caused quite a few. It is totally normal. The good thing about this is that all the thousands of other students are going through the exact same thing.

2. You will miss home.

I don’t care if you hated your hometown or you said that you would never miss your parents when you left. Chances are you will find yourself calling back home a lot more than you expected. Even if you are having the time of your life at school, still call home because there are people there that miss you like crazy too.

3. Introduce yourself to everyone

I am a really shy person before I get to know people. It takes a lot for me to come out of my shell so this was very difficult for me personally. When you walk into class the first day, introduce yourself to everyone around you. You may never see them again but it will at least make you feel like you know people in the class. Talk to people in your dorm. Do not just hide in your room all the time. Participate in activities and have fun!

4. You will not remember everyone’s name

It is okay to ask someone’s name a thousand times even if they have already told you. Chances are that they forgot your name too. Your brain will be on overload with all the names you are trying to cram in, so don’t be surprised or embarrassed when you don’t remember. It is totally normal.

5. Always turn to God

To be totally honest, I have probably grown more in my walk with Christ in my first week of college than in the 18 years of my life. When you get stressed and scared and think you can’t do it (which will happen by the way), turn to God. He is the calm and peace that you need. Find scripture verses that help calm your heart. Pray and ask God for help. I am so thankful that I have a God who never leaves my side. He knows exactly what you are going through it is all a part of his plan. There is no safer place to be than in the will of God. Stay there and you will make it.

This week I have learned a lot and grown a lot. I hope that what I have learned can help someone else.

Leave a Reply

