The Amazing Grace of God

Grace. This has always been a topic that is hard for me to wrap my head around. Before I can even begin to attempt to tackle the concept of the grace of God, I first have to come to the realization that I am a sinner. I am not perfect, as much as I would love to think that I am. No person is perfect. There is only one who is perfect and that is Jesus. Once I accept the fact that I am a sinner and I will never be perfect, then comes a whole new set of problems and questions. Why would God send his ONLY son to die for a bunch of imperfect sinners like myself. Why would God even give us a chance at salvation because we obviously do not deserve it? The answer is simple. Grace. The grace of God is something that is so hard for us to wrap our heads around because we are sinners. We cannot imagine extending such grace to other people. But the grace of God is so amazing, so extreme, it needs to be talked about. I recently went to one of the college small groups at my church and the leader was talking about God’s grace. We were talking about the parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector in Luke 18. Tax collectors were the worst of the worst in the time that Jesus spoke this parable. People could not understand how God could forgive and save someone so evil, but he did. So this brings up the same question as earlier, “why?”. The grace of God is meant for the glory of God. Contrary to what the Pharisee thought, we are not to praise for our salvation. You see the Pharisee prayed and bragged on himself and all the “good things” he did. But the tax collector could not even raise his eyes to heaven when he prayed because he was too ashamed. The tax collector recognized that he needed the grace of God to forgive him and that he in no way deserved it. No one deserves it. What we deserve is eternal punishment. We deserve eternity in hell. There are not enough good works out there to change that. The only thing that changes that is the grace of God through the sacrifice of His Son on the cross. Jesus dies for all of our sins for a simple purpose. He died for us to have eternal life. But God doesn’t stop there. Not only do we get eternal life through a faith in Jesus Christ, but he is going to reward us for the things that we do right while on earth. Our actions can not save us, only Jesus can save us. However, we can store up treasures in heaven. Matthew 16:27 says “For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what they have done.” But God doesn’t stop there. Let’s recap real quick. We deserve eternal death, plain and simple. Through the grace of God and a faith in Jesus however, we are given eternal life, and, we are rewarded with treasure in heaven for the things in our lives that we do right. Finally, we get to rule in heaven as well. Revelation 2:26-28 says “The one who conquers and who keeps my works until the end, to him I will give authority over the nations, and he will rule them with a rod of iron, as when earthen pots are broken in pieces, even as I myself have received authority from my Father. And I will give him the morning star.” The grace of God is something that is so amazing it can’t be understood because it is so undeserved. However, we need to live every day in a God honoring way. J.D. Greear said “We are changed not by being told what we need to do for God, but by hearing the news about what God has done for us.” So be changed with the knowledge of what Christ has done for you

Leave a Reply

