How to be a modest girl in a risque world

Modesty. What is modesty? According to dictionary.com it is defined as a “regard for decency of behavior, speech, and dress”. You see our churches now a days will tell us that modesty is referring to how you dress. I do not necessarily agree. Of course that is a very large part of it, but there are many other aspects to modesty. The way you carry yourself and the way you speak also reflect modesty. Modesty is a reflection of your heart. Therefore the way you act, talk, and dress also reflects the desire of your heart. I would like to touch on the dress aspect, however. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 says “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” We are not our own. Our body is a temple of the Holy Spirit and we should dress and act accordingly. I am a pastor’s kid, and with that “title” comes a lot of attention and judgement. People watch me and look to me as an example. I do not want a younger girl looking at something I am wearing and use that as a reason why she should be able to wear that. It is very difficult to dress modestly in the modern society because our culture tells us that the more skin we show the better. That is all so very WRONG. Teenage girls need to stand up against what Hollywood is telling us to wear and show them that you can respect others and yourself and still look stylish without exposing every inch of skin on your body. So lets change this risquรฉ world into a world that honors God. I am blessed to have two God honoring parents and a God honoring sister who could help be to develop standards that I will pass on to my own children one day. So I challenge you girls out there to think about these things when you get dressed in the morning.

1. Would I wear this if I were standing in the presence of God?

Well let me let you in on a little secret. You are always standing in the presence of God. God is omnipresent, meaning he is everywhere all at once. So when you put on the super short skirt and that teeny tiny crop top think about God standing right next to you while you are wearing it. If it doesn’t pass the test, change.

2. Would I be okay with my brother looking at others girls who are wearing this?

For the most part sisters are pretty protective of their brothers. I personally don’t want my brother to have to be staring at girls dressed super inappropriately so why should I myself dress that way? If you don’t want your brother looking at other girls wearing it, change.

3. Would I be okay if my future husband was looking at other girls wearing this?

If your future husband was forced to look at girls with such short shorts that their butt is hanging out would you be okay with that? I wouldn’t! All these guys around you will be somebody’sย husband one day, so don’t make them stumble today. If you would be uncomfortable with your husband looking at someone else wearing the same outfit, change.

4. Am I just wearing this because everyone else is?

That is never a good excuse to do anything. Just because everyone runs out in front of a bus would you? I didn’t think so. So why would you possibly want to disrespect yourself with your clothing just because “everyone else is doing it?”

5. Am I wearing this just to get guys attention?

Here is a secret for you. The guys that pay attention to you just because you are showing everything you have to offer and not guys who will respect you for who you are. They are looking at you like a piece of meat, not a person. The good guys will respect you for dressing modestly and for respecting yourself.

This is my challenge to every girl out there. Do not sacrifice your dignity for the sake of fashion, because trust me you can dress fashionably and modest at the same time.

2 thoughts on “How to be a modest girl in a risque world

  1. A very nice article as well as a timely one. Truly believe this is a topic that really needs to be honestly discussed in our churches.

    Like

    • Such truth and wisdom! What a role model you are to all the tweens that see you. You carry yourself with such class and to have the grasp and understanding of modesty and the effect on guys is huge- it took me a long time to truly understand it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

