5 Things I wish that I knew going into senior year

As I graduated high school a whole 8 days ago (can I get a hallelujah?!?!?!?!) there are a lot of things that I wish I knew 10 months ago before my senior year started. So, here is a list of 5 things that  I wish I knew before going into my senior year.

1. It goes by way faster than you think

You may be thinking now that it can’t end soon enough but, soak up every moment of this next year because you can never go back. I was the person who had the countdown app on my phone and would count down how far graduation was to the second. Don’t do that. If you do that you will miss all the great moments and memories that make up senior year. Sit back, relax, and enjoy senior year.

2. Participate!

It may have been nothing if you didn’t play in the powder-puff football game every other year but, this is your last chance, don’t miss it. If you don’t have a date to prom, don’t sit at home watching Netflix and eating pizza in your bed. GO! Get a group of friends and have fun! Don’t let your school work or part time job make you miss the moments that you can never repeat. I wish so badly that I could redo my senior year because I missed so many fun moments. I was too busy working or studying to do so many things that I wish I would have done. Don’t get me wrong working and studying are great and you need to do them, but don’t let them over take your life.

3. Take pictures

Senior year flies by, and when you look back on it it’s all a blur, so take pictures. Those pictures will eventually be all you have to remember of your high school self, so take lots of them. I mean hello the camera on your iPhone isn’t just for taking selfies people!

4. Enjoy it

Leave the stress in junior year.If you don’t get straight A’s your life will still go on I promise. If you don’t get into your top choice college don’t stress. There are plenty of incredible colleges out there that provide a great education. It is not worth it to stress. Have fun with your friends. Play a sport, go to sporting events, prom, homecoming. Do it all because you will never have the chance to do it again.

5. It’s okay to be terrified

Your life is changing. You are getting ready to go out into this world all by yourself. For the first time in your life you won’t have your parents guiding your every step. You will be free to make decisions, and mistakes, and that is both terrifying and exciting at the same time, but it is part or growing up. There will be times when you say that you can’t wait to go to college so that you can finally have a life and get away from your parents, and there will be times when you are crying on your moms shoulder because you are scared you won’t make any friends. There will be times when you get so upset with your parents that you scream that you just want to graduate and go to college already, and then you will have times where you are sitting with your dad wishing you didn’t have to leave he and your mom. All of this is completely normal.

So, going into senior year, don’t wish it away too fast because it will be over before you know it and you can never go back.

Leave a Reply

